How does the Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen implement its cultural work?
The Academy understood the relationship between education and culture at an early stage. With all due respect for the political and economic successes of the European Union: Europe - if it is to be supported by its citizens - is first and foremost about feelings, identity and cultural wealth, which can be experienced by people across all borders. This richness has a firm place at the academy: with everything from day-to-day culture to unusual and sometimes provocative works.


More than an empty phrase: education through art
Even though concerts clearly dominate the academy's cultural work today, the works of art exhibited at the academy leave no doubt as to the importance it attaches to other forms of cultural heritage. You will find a selection of the works in our art collection on this site.
The academy uses nearly all of its rooms to introduce participants and guests to the variety and diversity of artistic creation.

Discover oil paintings, watercolors, graphics, drawings, photos, posters as well as sculptures, woodcarvings and ceramics of various types, motifs and materials. Over the course of time, the idea was born to contact artists directly and to offer them a platform to present their work. The sales proceeds, according to the agreement, benefited them fully. In return, they donated an object of their choice to the academy . In this way, at least one work from each of the almost 130 exhibitions to date has remained in the Academy. The art shown is not necessarily always pleasing, but sometimes meets with criticism. The fact that visitors sometimes feel a bit puzzled at first is certainly in the interest of the academy: openness, the search for new ideas and tolerance are among the values that the academy embodies and wants to pass on. Since its establishment, the Stiftung europäische Kultur und Bildung foundation has been responsible for a large part of the cultural events at the academy. These include classical and modern concerts, readings, performances and guided tours. The foundation is also responsible for the maintenance of the art collection, which today comprises around 400 works. For the academy, cultural heritage, art and education are inseparable. They are a matter of the future - and therefore a matter of the academy


image-2409
more
image-2408
more
image-2406
more
image-2407
more

image-2410
more
image-2411
more
image-2412
more
image-2413
more

Wie setzt die Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen ihre Kulturarbeit um?
Den Zusammenhang zwischen Bildung und Kultur hat die Akademie bereits früh verstanden. Bei allem Respekt vor den politischen und wirtschaftlichen Erfolgen der Europäischen Union: Europa hat – wenn es denn von seinen Bürgern getragen werden soll – zuallererst etwas mit Gefühlen zu tun, mit Identität und kulturellem Reichtum, die für die Menschen über alle Grenzen hinweg erfahrbar sind. Dieser Reichtum hat in der Akademie einen festen Platz: mit alltags- und lebensnaher Kultur ebenso wie mit ungewöhnlichen und manchmal provozierenden Werken.

Mehr als ein Wortspiel: „Bild“ steckt in „Bildung“!
Wenn auch heute Konzerte die Kulturarbeit der Akademie eindeutig dominieren, so lassen doch die in der Akademie ausgestellten Kunstwerke keinen Zweifel an dem Stellenwert, den sie auch anderen Formen der Kulturarbeit beimisst. Einen Auszug der Werke unserer Pinakothek finden Sie auf dieser Seite.
Dabei nutzt die Akademie buchstäblich (fast) alle Räumlichkeiten, um Teilnehmenden und Gästen die Vielfalt und Unterschiedlichkeit künstlerischen Schaffens nahezubringen.

Entdecken Sie Ölgemälde, Aquarelle, Grafiken, Zeichnungen, Fotos, Plakate ebenso wie Skulpturen, Miniaturen, Holzschnitzereien und Keramiken unterschiedlicher Art, Thematik und Materialien. Im Laufe der Zeit entstand die Idee, mit Künstlern gezielt Kontakt aufzunehmen und ihnen hier eine Plattform zur Präsentation ihrer Werke anzubieten. Der Verkaufserlös, so die Vereinbarung, kam ihnen voll zugute. Im Gegenzug überließen sie der Akademie ein Objekt ihrer Wahl. So verblieb von jeder der bis heute nahezu 130 Ausstellungen mindestens eine Arbeit in der Akademie. Die gezeigte Kunst muss keineswegs gefällig sein, sondern stößt auch manchmal auf Kritik. Dass Besucher bisweilen erst einmal stutzen, ist durchaus im Sinne der Akademie: Offenheit, die Suche nach Neuem und auch Toleranz gehören zu den Werten, die die Akademie lebt und auch weitervermitteln will. Seit ihrer Gründung verantwortet die Stiftung europäische Kultur und Bildung einen Großteil der Kulturveranstaltungen in der Akademie. Dazu gehören unter anderem klassische und moderne Konzerte, Lesungen, Performances und Gästeführungen. Die Stiftung ist ebenfalls verantwortlich für die Pflege der Kunstsammlung, die heute rund 400 Werke umfasst. Für die Akademie gehören kulturelles Erbe, Kunst und Bildung untrennbar zusammen. Denn sie sind eine Angelegenheit der Zukunft – und damit eine Angelegenheit der Akademie.


image-1169
mehr
image-1171
mehr
image-1172
mehr
image-1173
mehr

image-1174
mehr
image-1175
mehr
image-1176
mehr
image-1177
mehr