Since 1954, the Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen has been implementing its mission "to conduct information, education and research work in the fields of society and politics and to promote European integration on a liberal and federal basis".
In doing so, the educational concept of the Academy is comprehensive. It combines political-historical with political-aesthetic education. This way, the Academy gains deeper emotional access to the participants, far beyond the everyday life they are familiar with. Because education is not confined to the imparting of knowledge.

Education also includes the ability to acquire values, to develop imagination, creativity, tolerance and openness and to allow emotions to be felt. It is impossible to imagine the work of the Academy without art and culture, as they are one of its methods of conveying its values. In particular, when culture takes an aesthetic or political stance, it appeals equally to the intellect and to emotions, challenging us to debate it. This is all the more true when art provokes and questions accepted norms (content, aesthetics, etc.). The freedom (not only) of art is therefore not an empty slogan at the Academy - but in many ways filled with life.

image-2395

The Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen has its own extensive art collection with over 400 pieces, which is unparalleled in the region and which already began in the 1960s. Contemporary, predominantly European art can be seen in all rooms and corridors as well as in the park of the academy. Temporary exhibitions round off the offer. Since 1961, the academy has organized nearly 130 exhibitions with artists primarily from Germany and Europe, but also from all over the world.

more
image-2396

The Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen organizes various cultural events, especially in cooperation with the Stiftung europäische Kultur und Bildung foundation, to which all interested parties are warmly welcome.
Here you will find an overview of the cultural events of the year. By clicking on the selected day, you will find further information about "your" event and can book it easily online.

more
image-2394

Why not find out more about the academy's art collection first hand or about the Celtic sculpture trail Cerda & Celtoi and its breathtaking surroundings? The academy offers free guided tours for its guests in German, English or French. They go on an exciting trip into the world of forms and colors, history and stories.

Sculpture Trail Hike: Duration approx. 3 hours, approx. 7 km, sure-footedness required, for groups of 10 persons or more; Art Collection Guided Tour : Duration ca. 1 hour, for all interested

Would you like to know more about the sculpture trail? Here you will find the flyer "Cerda & Celtoi" and the book "Cerda & Celtoi – ein Skulpturenweg entsteht" with summaries in English and French.

image-2397

The Arboretum Europaeum - Park der Nachhaltigkeit (Sustainability Park) is a park on the northern edge of the academy campus. It houses a cross-section of the most common tree species of Central Europe, but also houses "guests" from other regions of Europe and the world.

If you want to know more, you can download here the brochure "Nature in the Hochwald region" or the flyer "Arboretum Europaeum - Sustainability Park" (available in German, English and French).

Seit 1954 setzt die Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen ihren Auftrag um, „Informations-, Bildungs- und Forschungsarbeit im Bereich von Gesellschaft und Politik zu betreiben und die Einigung Europas auf freiheitlicher und föderativer Grundlage zu fördern."
Dabei ist der Bildungsbegriff der Akademie umfassend. Er kombiniert politisch-historische mit politisch-ästhetischer Bildung. So eröffnet die Akademie sich einen emotionaleren Zugang zu den Teilnehmenden weitab von ihrer gewohnten Lebenswelt. Zur Bildung gehört eben nicht nur die Vermittlung von Wissen.


Bildung umfasst auch die Fähigkeit, sich Werte anzueignen sowie Fantasie, Kreativität, Toleranz und Offenheit weiterzuentwickeln und Emotionen zuzulassen. Ihre Werte vermittelt die Akademie gezielt auch durch Kunst und Kultur, die darum aus der Akademiearbeit nicht wegzudenken sind. Gerade wenn Kultur ästhetisch oder auch politisch Stellung bezieht, spricht sie gleichermaßen den Intellekt und das Gefühl an und fordert zu einer Auseinandersetzung heraus. Dies gilt umso mehr, wenn Kunst provoziert und akzeptierte Normen (Inhalte, Ästhetik…)  infrage stellt. Die Freiheit (nicht nur) der Kunst ist daher in der Akademie kein leeres Schlagwort - sondern in vielerlei Hinsicht mit Leben gefüllt.

image-920

Die Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen verfügt über eine umfangreiche eigene Pinakothek mit über 400 Werken, die in der Region ihresgleichen sucht und bereits in den 60er Jahren ihren Anfang nahm. In allen Räumlichkeiten und Fluren sowie im Park der Akademie ist zeitgenössische, überwiegend europäische Kunst zu sehen. Wechselausstellungen runden das Angebot ab. Seit 1961 hat die Akademie nahezu 130 Ausstellungen mit Künstlern vorrangig aus Deutschland und Europa, aber auch der ganzen Welt durchgeführt.

mehr
image-2127

Die Europäische Akademie Otzenhausen führt insbesondere in Zusammenarbeit mit der Stiftung europäische Kultur und Bildung unterschiedliche Kulturveranstaltungen durch, zu denen alle Interessierten herzlich willkommen sind.
Hier finden Interessierte einen Überblick über die Kulturveranstaltungen rund ums Jahr - auf einen Blick. Per Klick auf den ausgewählten Tag gibt es weitere Informationen zu „ihrer“ Veranstaltung, und buchen können sie einfach online.

mehr
image-755

Warum nicht aus erster Hand Näheres über die Kunstsammlung der Akademie oder über den keltischen Skulpturenweg Cerda & Celtoi und sein atemberaubendes Umfeld erfahren? Für ihre Gäste bietet die Akademie kostenfreie Führungen in Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch an. Sie gehen auf eine spannende Reise in die Welt der Formen und Farben, der Geschichte und Geschichten.
Wanderung Skulpturenweg: Dauer ca. 3 Stunden, ca. 7 km, Trittsicherheit Voraussetzung, für Gruppen ab 10 Personen; Gästeführung Kunstsammlung: Dauer +/- 1 Stunde, für alle Interessierten
Möchten Sie mehr über den Skulpturenweg wissen? Hier kommen Sie auf den Flyer "Cerda & Celtoi" und das Buch "Cerda & Celtoi – ein Skulpturenweg entsteht".

image-921

Das Arboretum Europaeum – Park der Nachhaltigkeit ist ein Park am Nordrand des Akademiegeländes. Er beherbergt einen Querschnitt der häufigsten Baumarten Mitteleuropas, aber auch "Gäste" aus anderen Regionen Europas und der Welt.
Wer mehr wissen möchte, kann sich hier die Broschüre "Natur im Hochwald" oder den Flyer "Arboretum Europaeum – Park der Nachhaltigkeit" herunterladen (erhältlich in Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch).