Otzenhausen - a small village in Saarland, Germany; and yet it is world-renowned.
What makes Otzenhausen so special?
Maybe it is the history. Already more than 2000 years ago, the region around Otzenhausen was a center of the Celtic Hunsrück-Eifel culture, as the Celtic hill fort impressively demonstrates.

Perhaps it is the heart of Europe that beats here. Otzenhausen lies in the middle of the "SaarLorLux" Greater Region, just a hop, skip and a jump from the European capitals of Brussels, Strasbourg or Luxembourg. And it wouldn't have taken much and Otzenhausen could have joined in, because the foundation of the EAO in 1954 was based on the commitment during the referendum for the Saar Statute, which envisaged a Europeanisation of Saarland as the seat of the future European institutions.

Perhaps it is precisely this idea - which has been lived out at the EAO for more than 65 years now - of meeting and experiencing Europe and thus building up a personal relationship with other people, ideas and political concepts.

Perhaps it is the 10,000 people from all over the world who come to the Academy every year to meet others and learn more about current issues of European integration and sustainable development.

Perhaps it is our motto "Come together to create Europe" that is lived here every day: encounter not only in the seminar context, but also on the entire premises. Over a glass of wine in our Eurobistro or playing foosball in the leisure area, people become closer to each other.

Perhaps it is the location. Situated in the countryside, on the edge of the Hunsrück-Hochwald National Park, the EAO sees itself as an open house and invites all guests, residents, hikers, cyclists and many other people from near and far to exchange ideas and experiences, thus enabling further encounters.

Perhaps it is the special conference atmosphere: comfortable rooms, modern seminar rooms, excellent gastronomy and variety of leisure activities.

It is certainly the relevance of our work. In times of poisoned discourse, populism and nationalism, encounters and exchanges of opinion in the sense of civic education are more important than ever.

Certainly it is also this indescribable feeling that connects many seminar participants: To be part of something bigger, part of an idea, part of something magical, part of Europe - Otzenhausen.

You too can get to know the spirit of Otzenhausen. Be enchanted by the magic of the place and the people who make it what it is.
We say "Welcome to Otzenhausen"!

Otzenhausen – ein kleines Dorf im Saarland; und doch in vielen Orten auf der ganzen Welt bekannt.
Was macht Otzenhausen so besonders?

Vielleicht ist es die Geschichte. Schon vor über 2000 Jahren stellte die Region um Otzenhausen ein Zentrum der keltischen Hunsrück-Eifel-Kultur dar, wie der Keltische Ringwall zeigt.

Vielleicht ist es das Herz Europas, das hier schlägt. Otzenhausen liegt inmitten der Großregion „SaarLorLux“, nur einen kurzen Sprung entfernt von den europäischen Hauptstädten Brüssel, Strasbourg oder Luxembourg. Und es hätte nicht viel gefehlt und Otzenhausen hätte sich einreihen können, denn die Gründung der EAO 1954 fußte auf dem Engagement bei der Volksabstimmung für das Saarstatut, das eine Europäisierung des Saarlandes als Sitz der künftigen europäischen Institutionen vorsah.

Vielleicht ist es genau diese – seit nun über 65 Jahre an der EAO gelebte - Idee, Europa zu begegnen und zu erleben und damit eine persönliche Beziehung zu anderen Menschen, Ideen und politischen Konzepten aufzubauen.

Vielleicht sind es die 10.000 Menschen aus aller Welt, die jedes Jahr an die Akademie kommen, um eben anderen Menschen zu begegnen und mehr über aktuelle Themen der europäischen Integration und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung zu lernen.

Vielleicht ist es unser Motto „Europa entsteht durch Begegnung“, das bei uns gelebte Realität ist: Begegnung nicht nur im Seminarkontext, sondern auch auf dem gesamten Gelände. Bei einem Glas Wein in unserem Eurobistro oder beim Kickern im Freizeitbereich kommen sich Menschen näher.

Vielleicht ist es die Lage. Im Grünen gelegen, am Rand des Nationalparks Hunsrück-Hochwald, versteht sich die EAO als offenes Haus und lädt alle Gäste, Anwohner, Wanderer, Radfahrer sowie viele andere Menschen aus nah und fern zum Austausch ein und ermöglicht so weitere Begegnung.

Vielleicht ist es die besondere Tagungsatmosphäre: komfortable Zimmer, moderne Seminarräume, exzellente Gastronomie und vielfältige Freizeitmöglichkeiten.

Sicher ist es die Relevanz unserer Arbeit. In Zeiten von vergiftetem Diskurs, Populismus und Nationalismus sind Begegnung und Meinungsaustausch im Sinne der politischen Bildung wichtiger denn je.

Sicher ist es aber auch dieses unbeschreibliche Gefühl, das viele Seminarteilnehmende verbindet: Teil etwas Größeren zu sein, Teil einer Idee, Teil einer Magie, Teil Europas – Otzenhausen.

Lernen auch Sie den Otzenhausen-Spirit kennen. Lassen Sie sich verzaubern von der Magie des Ortes und den Menschen, die ihn ausmachen.
Wir sagen „Willkommen in Otzenhausen“!